Quarantine

Contact quarantine:

In order to avoid the further spread of coronavirus, contact persons must remain in quarantine for 10 days after their last contact with the infected individual. A test (swab) for the virus is recommended after the 5th day of quarantine. If you develop symptoms, you should contact your GP by telephone or call the number for medical emergencies, (tel. 061 261 15 15), to see if you need to do a test. Fully vaccinated individuals can due to BAG-recommendation be excepted from quarantine.

Quarantine for arrivals:

In accordance with the Federal Government’s Ordinance on Measures to Combat the Coronavirus (COVID-19) in International Passenger Transport, travellers returning from risk regions must also quarantine for ten days. Individuals arriving into Switzerland are required to register electronically via the platform provided by the Federal Office of Public Health (FOPH) for collecting travellers’ contact data (https://swissplf.admin.ch/home) or in paper form on the contact cards provided by the FOPH. Travellers must also provide notification via the online form of the authorities of the Canton of Basel-Stadt within 48 hours of their arrival from a risk region. These notifications are sent to the Basel-Stadt cantonal medical service and the Basel-Stadt contact tracing team will get in touch.

Finishing quarantine early:

Quarantine can be finished early on the following conditions if a negative test result has been received:

  • The individual does not have any symptoms of Covid-19.
  • The individual has received a negative result from a Sars-CoV-2 PCR or rapid test with a test date of the seventh day of quarantine at the earliest. 
  • Strict compulsory mask wearing and compulsory distancing of 1.5 m from other people applies when the individual is outside of their home or accommodation until the end of the original quarantine period. The individual may not participate in activities where they are not able to adhere to these rules (e.g. school, daycare facilities, sport, some work activities).

Attention - for risk areas with Sars-CoV-2 variants of concern, the exemption from the obligation to quarantine do not apply.

If the conditions for ending quarantine early apply, Epi@bs.ch must be notifiedby the individual. The quarantine can end following notification. Individuals do not have to wait for feedback or confirmation from the Department of Health.

Notification of test results will also be sent to the Department of Health of the Canton of Basel-Stadt through official channels by the test centres and will be traced. Contravention (falsification of test results, shortening of quarantine without a negative test) is punishable. For that reason, individuals should keep proof of the negative test result safe until the end of the original quarantine so that it can be produced on request.

Quarantäne

Quarantäne

Kontaktquarantäne:

Zur Vermeidung einer weiteren Verbreitung des Coronavirus müssen Kontaktpersonen während 10 Tagen nach ihrem letzten Kontakt mit der erkrankten Person in Quarantäne verbleiben. Empfohlen wird ein Test (Abstrich) auf das Virus ab dem 5. Tag der Quarantäne. Bei Auftreten von Symptomen sollen sie sich telefonisch an die Hausärztin oder den Hausarzt oder an die Medizinische Notrufzentrale (Tel. 061 261 15 15) wenden, um eine Testung zu erwägen. Vollständig geimpfte Personen werden gemäss BAG-Empfehlungen von der Kontaktquarantäne ausgenommen.

Einreisequarantäne:

Rückreisende aus Risikogebieten müssen gemäss der Verordnung des Bundes über Massnahmen zur Bekämpfung des Coronavirus im Bereich des internationalen Personenverkehrs ebenfalls für zehn Tage in Quarantäne. Einreisende sind verpflichtet, sich vor Ihrer Einreise elektronisch über die vom Bundesamt für Gesundheit (BAG) zur Verfügung gestellte Plattform für die Kontaktdatenerfassung für Reisende (https://swissplf.admin.ch/home)  oder auf den vom BAG in Papierform zur Verfügung gestellten Kontaktkarten zu registrieren. Zusätzlich muss innerhalb von 48h nach Einreise aus einem Risikogebiet eine Meldung über das Online-Formular der Behörden des Kantons Basel-Stadt erfolgen. Diese Meldungen werden an den Kantonsärztlichen Dienst Basel-Stadt weitergeleitet und es erfolgt eine Kontaktaufnahme durch das Contact Tracing-Team Basel-Stadt.

Vorzeitige Beendung der Quarantäne:

Unter folgenden Voraussetzungen wird eine vorzeitige Beendigung der Quarantäne ab dem 7. Tag bei Vorliegen eines negativen Testresultats ermöglicht:

  • Es liegen keine mit einer Covid-19 Erkrankung vereinbaren Symptome vor.
  • Das negative Resultat eines Sars-CoV-2 PCR- oder Schnelltests liegt vor, wobei das Testdatum frühestens der siebte Tag der Quarantäne sein darf. 
  • Bis zum Ablauf der ursprünglichen Quarantäne gilt ausserhalb der Wohnung oder Unterkunft eine strikte Maskenpflicht sowie ein zwingender Mindestabstand von 1.5m zu anderen Personen. An Aktivitäten, die ein Einhalten dieser Regeln nicht erlauben (z.B. Schule, KiTa, Sport, gewisse Arbeitstätigkeiten), darf weiterhin nicht teilgenommen werden.

Bitte beachten Sie, dass eine vorzeitige Beendigung der Quarantäne bei Rückreise aus einem Risikoland mit besorgniserregenden Varianten nicht möglich ist.

Sind die Voraussetzungen für ein frühzeitiges Quarantäneende gegeben, muss dies selbstständig an epi@bs.ch gemeldet werden. Nach der Meldung darf die Quarantäne beendet werden. Eine Rückmeldung oder Bestätigung durch das Gesundheitsdepartement muss nicht abgewartet werden.

Eine Meldung der Testresultate an das Gesundheitsdepartement des Kantons Basel-Stadt erfolgt zusätzlich auf offiziellem Weg durch die Teststellen und wird nachverfolgt. Eine Zuwiderhandlung (Fälschung von Testresultaten, Verkürzung der Quarantäne ohne negativen Test) ist strafbar. Daher sollte der Nachweis des negativen Testresultates bis zum Ende der ursprünglichen Quarantäne aufbewahrt und auf Verlangen vorgewiesen werden können.