Covid certificate

What is a Covid certificate?

The Covid Certificate is a way of documenting that somebody has been fully vaccinated against Covid-19, has recovered from Covid-19 or has tested negative for Covid-19. Covid Certificates are issued in paper form or as a PDF document with a printed QR code. This QR code can be scanned with a smartphone and stored in an app. You can produce a Covid Certificate by using either the print-out or the electronic version of the QR code in the app. You will need to show your identity card or your passport to confirm your identity when you produce your personal Covid Certificate.

On 17.02.2022, the Federal Council lifted the certificate obligation in Switzerland.

The Covid-19-Certificate has been officially compatible with the EU-Covid-Certificate since 9 July 2021. As a result, the EU Covid Certificate is accepted in Switzerland and can be verified using the Swiss Covid Certificate Check app. All further countries that issue compatible certificates, are listed here. Vice versa, the certificate issued in Switzerland should be accepted in all those countries (Please note that from the 16.11.21 until the 17.02.22  several certificates were issued here, that are only valid in Switzerland). For further information regarding this matter, please click here). Please bear in mind that this does not guarantee for the entry into other countries. The regulations differ from country to country and can change at short notice, people who plan to travel are requested to inform themselves about the travel restrictions via the Federal Office of Public Health (Travel Abroad and Global Statistics (admin.ch)) or directly via the authorities of the destination country or the airline.

You can find more information about the Covid Certificate and its use on the website of the FOPH: https://www.bag.admin.ch/covid-zertifikat

nach oben

Application process for certificates in Basel

1. Are you a Swiss citizen AND/OR do you have an official residence permit in Switzerland or a Swiss cross-border commuter permit?

a) Yes -> Continue reading under point 2

b) No -> Continue reading under point 3

2.

a) Recovery in Switzerland or abroad -> application via National Application Center, online delivery (exception: cross-border commuters without residential address in Switzerland are asked to apply for the certificate via e-mail to epi@bs.ch).

b) Vaccination in Switzerland -> application via e-mail to epi@bs.ch, online delivery

c) Vaccination abroad (according to EMA list)* -> application via National Application Center, online delivery (exception: cross-border commuters without residential address in Switzerland are asked to apply for the certificate via e-mail to epi@bs.ch)

d) Vaccinations abroad (only approved by WHO)** -> application via e-mail to epi@bs.ch and collection at the Migration Office, no online delivery possible

 

Documents to be submitted:

  • Copy of passport/ID
  • Copy of vaccination certificate or positive PCR test (for recovery abroad, an isolation instruction or medical confirmation of COVID-19 infection must be enclosed)
  • If applicable, copy of cross-border commuter permit or residence permit in Basel (for persons without CH citizenship)
  • Transfer code from the Covid Cert app (for direct delivery to the app)

 

Note: Please make sure to submit all the required documents in a clearly legible form. Applications for certificates that cannot be delivered online must be submitted via epi@bs.ch no later than 3:00 p.m. on the previous day (Mon-Thu).

 

*Comirnaty® / BNT162b2 / Tozinameran (Pfizer/BioNTech), COVID-19 Vaccine Janssen (Johnson & Johnson), Spikevax® / mRNA-1273 / COVID-19 vaccine (Moderna), Nuvaxovid / NVX-CoV2373 (Novavax), Vaxzevria® / AZD1222 / Covishield™ (AstraZeneca)

**SARS-CoV-2 Vaccine (Vero Cell) (Sinopharm / BIBP), CoronaVac (Sinovac), COVAXIN® /BBV152 (Bharat Biotech)

 

3. Vaccination or recovery certificates cannot be issued for tourists at present.

nach oben

Certificates for rapid antigen tests

As of 02.05.2022, it is possible to obtain an EU-compatible recovery certificate for positive rapid antigen tests performed in Switzerland. The certificates can be applied retrospectively for positive rapid antigen tests performed after 01.10.2021. In this case, it is mandatory that the test was performed in Switzerland.

You have the following options:

  1. You will receive your certificate of recovery directly on site at the test center.
  2. Application via National Application Center *possible as of 02.05.22

Important: The retrospective issuance of recovery certificates for positive rapid antigen tests performed before 01.10.2021 is not permitted.

FOPH_FAQs_Adaptation-of-certificates-in-line-with-the-EU-as-of-02_05_22.pdf

Federal Council Press release

nach oben

Discontinuation of the certificate counter

As of 08/03/2022, the certificate counter at the Migration Office will no longer be operated by the health department. Individuals who need to pick up their certificate in person will receive instructions via email after submitting their application.

nach oben

Validity period of the certificates

In Switzerland, vaccination certificates are valid for 270 days from the date of administration of the last vaccine dose (except for Janssen vaccine: there, with the first vaccine validity starts from the 22nd day after administration of the vaccine dose).

The validity of recovery certificates starts from the 11th day after the positive PCR test. With the Federal Council resolution of 18.03.2022, the validity period in Switzerland was shortened to 180 days (counting from the test date).

Since the duration of validity may vary from country to country, we recommend that you inquire about the validity period of your certificate in the respective country before traveling abroad.

nach oben

Incorrect information on the certificate

Should you find incorrect or incomplete information on your certificate (e.g. name or date of birth do not match the information on your ID card), please submit a request for a new certificate. The request is free of charge and can be submitted via e-mail (documents for vaccination, as well as a copy of ID/passport to epi@bs.ch).
People who do not have internet access can register by calling the cantonal infoline (tel. 0800 463 666, Mon-Sun 8:00am - 5:00pm).

nach oben

Covid Certificate for people who have tested negative for coronavirus

People with a negative PCR test result: the plan is to have certificates delivered by the laboratory. The certificate after a negative PCR test is valid for 72 hours from the time when the sample was taken. 

People with a negative rapid antigen test result will get a certificate at the place where the test is carried. The certificate after a negative rapid antigen test is valid for 24 hours from the time the sample was taken.

Covid Certificates are not issued for self-tests.

nach oben

COVID-19 exemption certificate

There are people who cannot be vaccinated or tested for medical reasons (For details please see Appendix 4 of the COVID-19 Special Situation Ordinance). These persons had the possibility to obtain an exemption certificate for a while. With the abolition of the certificate obligation in Switzerland, no more exemption certificates can be issued since 17.02.2022. Certificates that have already been issued remain valid.

nach oben

Covid Certificate in the “COVID Certificate” app

Illustrations of the Corona app

We recommend that you download the Covid Certificate App. You can then upload your certificate to the app and carry it with you digitally at all times. The data is not stored in any central system.

It is possible to store several Covid Certificates in the app, for example if you have several negative test results or if you wish to store your family members’ certificates. The app also shows how long the Covid Certificate is valid for or when it expires in Switzerland.

 If requested, you can produce the certificate in paper form or PDF format or using the app. Certificates are only valid in conjunction with your ID or passport.

nach oben

QR code for downloading the COVID Certificate app

QR-Code for the download of the COVID Certificate app from the Apple store

The QR code on the left can be scanned with the iPhone / iPad. The app page in the Apple App Store will then be opened. 

You can also access the app page in the Apple App Store using the follolwing link:
To the app in the Apple App Store

QR Code for the download of the COVID certificate app from Google Play

The QR code on the left can be scanned with an Android smartphone / tablet. The app page in the Google Play Store will then be opened.

You can also access the app page in the Google Play Store using the following link:
To the app in the Google Play store

 

To the app in the HUAWEI AppGallery

nach oben

Covid-Zertifikat

Was ist ein Covid-Zertifikat

Das Covid-Zertifikat ist eine Möglichkeit, eine komplette Covid-19-Impfung, eine durchgemachte Erkrankung oder einen negativen Corona-Test vorweisen zu können. Das Covid-Zertifikat wird in Papierform / elektronisch als PDF-Dokument zugestellt oder direkt mittels Transfer-Code in Ihre Covid Cert App überliefert. Zum Vorweisen eines Covid-Zertifikats können Sie entweder den Ausdruck oder die elektronische Version in der App nutzen. Zur Überprüfung Ihrer Identität beim Vorweisen Ihres persönlichen Covid-Zertifikats müssen Sie sich mittels Identitätsausweis oder Pass ausweisen.

Per 17.02.2022 wurde die Zertifikatspflicht in der Schweiz vom Bundesrat aufgehoben.

Das Covid-19-Zertifikat der Schweiz ist offiziell seit dem 9. Juli 2021 mit dem EU-Covid-Zertifikat kompatibel. Folglich wird das EU-Zertifikat in der Schweiz anerkannt und kann über die Schweizer Covid Certificate Check App verifiziert werden. Welche weiteren Länder über kompatible Zertifikate verfügen finden Sie hier. Umgekehrt wird das in der Schweiz ausgestellte Zertifikat in diesen Ländern ebenfalls anerkannt (Achtung: Vom 16.11.21 bis zum 17.02.22 wurden mehrere Zertifikate ausgestellt, die nur in der Schweiz gültig sind). Es gilt zu beachten, dass dies keine Garantie für die Einreise in andere Länder darstellt, und die Regelungen von Land zu Land verschieden sind und sich kurzfristig ändern können. Daher sind reiseinteressierte Personen gebeten, sich direkt beim Bundesamt für Gesundheit (Auslandsreisen und weltweite Zahlen (admin.ch)) und bei den Behörden des Ziellandes und der Fluggesellschaft über die genauen Reisebedingungen zu informieren. 

Weitere Informationen zum Covid-Zertifikat und dessen Verwendung finden Sie auf der Website des BAG.

nach oben

Beantragung von Zertifikaten in Basel

1. Sie sind im Besitz der Schweizer Staatsbürgerschaft UND/ODER verfügen über einen offiziellen Aufenthaltstitel in der Schweiz oder eine Schweizer Grenzgängerbewilligung?

a) Ja -> Lesen Sie weiter unter Punkt 2

b) Nein -> Lesen Sie weiter unter Punkt 3

 

2.

a) Genesung in der Schweiz oder im Ausland -> Antrag via Nationale Antragsstelle, online Zustellung (Ausnahme: Grenzgänger ohne Wohnadresse in der Schweiz beantragen das Zertifikat via E-Mail an epi@bs.ch)

b) Impfungen in der Schweiz -> Antrag via E-Mail epi@bs.ch, online Zustellung

c) Impfungen im Ausland (gemäss EMA Liste)* -> Antrag via Nationale Antragsstelle, online Zustellung (Ausnahme: Grenzgänger ohne Wohnadresse in der Schweiz beantragen das Zertifikat via E-Mail an epi@bs.ch)

d) Impfungen im Ausland (nur von der WHO zugelassen)** -> Antrag via E-Mail an epi@bs.ch und Abholung beim Migrationsamt, keine online Zustellung möglich

 

Einzureichende Dokumente:

  • Kopie Pass/ID
  • Kopie Impfnachweis oder positiver PCR-Test (für Genesung im Ausland muss eine Isolationsanweisung oder ärztliche Bestätigung der durchgemachten Erkrankung beigelegt werden)
  • Ggf. Kopie Grenzgängerbewilligung oder Aufenthaltsbewilligung in Basel (für Personen ohne CH-Staatsbürgerschaft)
  • Transfer-Code aus der Covid Cert App (für direkte Zustellung in die App)

 

Hinweis: Bitte reichen Sie die Unterlagen vollständig und in gut leserlicher Form ein. Anträge für Zertifikate, die nicht online zugestellt werden können, müssen bis spätestens 15:00 Uhr am Vortag (Mo-Do) via epi@bs.ch eingereicht werden.

 

*Comirnaty® / BNT162b2 / Tozinameran (Pfizer/BioNTech), COVID-19 Vaccine Janssen (Johnson & Johnson), Spikevax® / mRNA-1273 / COVID-19 vaccine (Moderna), Nuvaxovid / NVX-CoV2373 (Novavax), Vaxzevria® / AZD1222 / Covishield™ (AstraZeneca)

**SARS-CoV-2 Vaccine (Vero Cell) (Sinopharm / BIBP), CoronaVac (Sinovac), COVAXIN® /BBV152 (Bharat Biotech)

 

3. Für Touristen können aktuell keine Impf- oder Genesenen-Zertifikate ausgestellt werden.

nach oben

Zertifikate für Antigen-Schnelltests

Per 02.05.2022 ist es möglich, für in der Schweiz durchgeführte Antigen-Schnelltests, welche positiv ausfallen, ein EU-kompatibles Genesenen-Zertifikat zu erhalten. Die Zertifikate können rückwirkend für ab dem 01.10.2021 durchgeführte, positive Antigen-Schnelltests beantragt werden. Der Test muss in diesem Fall zwingend in der Schweiz durchgeführt worden sein.

Sie haben folgende Optionen:

  1. Falls von der Teststelle angeboten, Ausstellung des Genesenen-Zertifikats direkt vor Ort oder durch das auswertende Labor. Bitte informieren Sie sich auf der Website der jeweiligen Teststelle.
  2. Beantragung via Nationale Antragsstelle *ab 02.05.2022 möglich

Wichtig: Die rückwirkende Ausstellung von Genesenen-Zertifikaten für positive Antigen-Schnelltests, welche vor dem 01.10.2021 durchgeführt wurden, ist nicht zulässig.

BAG_FAQ_Anpassungen-Zertifikat-an-die-EU-ab-02_05_2022.pdf

BR Medienmitteilung

nach oben

Gültigkeitsdauer der Zertifikate

In der Schweiz sind Impfzertifikate 270 Tage ab Verabreichung der letzten Impfdosis gültig (Ausnahme Impfstoff von Janssen: dort Gültigkeitsbeginn nach der 1. Impfung ab dem 22. Tag nach Verabreichung der Impfdosis).

Die Gültigkeit von Genesenenzertifikaten beginnt ab dem 11. Tag nach dem positiven PCR-Test und dauert ab dem Testdatum. Mit dem Bundesratsbeschluss vom 18.03.2022 wurde die Gültigkeitsdauer in der Schweiz auf 180 Tage verkürzt.

Da sich die Dauer der Gültigkeit von Land zu Land unterscheiden kann, empfehlen wir Ihnen, dass Sie sich vor einer Reise ins Ausland über die Gültigkeitsdauer Ihres Zertifikats im jeweiligen Land erkundigen.

nach oben

Einstellung des Zertifikatschalters

Ab dem 08.03.2022 wird der Schalter beim Migrationsamt nicht mehr von uns betrieben. Personen, die ihr Zertifikat persönlich abholen müssen, werden nach Stellung des Antrags per E-Mail von uns instruiert. 

nach oben

Fehlerhafte Angaben auf dem Zertifikat

Sollten Sie fehlerhafte oder unvollständige Angaben auf Ihrem Zertifikat feststellen (Zum Bsp. Name oder Geburtsdatum stimmen nicht überein mit den Angaben im Ausweis), bitten wir Sie, ein neues Zertifikat zu beantragen. Die Anfrage ist kostenlos und kann via E-Mail (Unterlagen zur Impfung, sowie Kopie von ID/Pass an epi@bs.ch) eingereicht werden.

Personen, welche über keinen Zugang zum Internet verfügen, können sich bei der kantonalen Infoline (Tel. 0800 463 666, Mo-So 8:00-17:00 Uhr) melden.

nach oben

Covid-Zertifikat für Personen mit negativem Coronatest

Für Personen mit einem negativen PCR-Testergebnis erfolgt die Ausstellung des Zertifikats direkt durch das Labor. Das Zertifikat nach negativem PCR-Test ist während 72 Stunden ab Probeentnahme gültig.

Bei Personen mit einem negativen Antigen-Schnelltest ist die testende Stelle zuständig für die Ausstellung des Zertifikats. Das Zertifikat nach einem negativen Antigen-Schnelltest ist während 24 Stunden ab Probeentnahme gültig.

Für Selbsttests können keine Covid-Zertifikate ausgestellt werden.

nach oben

Corona Ausnahmezertifikat

Es gibt Personen, die sich aus medizinischen Gründen (Details dazu entnehmen Sie bitte dem Anhang 4 der Covid-19-Verordnung besondere Lage) weder impfen noch testen lassen können. Diese Personen hatten eine Zeit lang die Möglichkeit, ein Ausnahmezertifikat zu erlangen. Mit der Aufhebung der Zertifikatspflicht in der Schweiz, können seit dem 17.02.2022 auch keine Ausnahmezertifikate mehr ausgestellt werden. Bereits voliegende Zertifikate bleiben weiterhin gültig.

nach oben

Covid-Zertifikat in der «COVID Certificate»-App

Wir empfehlen Ihnen, die Covid Certificate App herunterzuladen. Sie können Ihr Zertifikat in der Folge in die App hochladen und stets digital mit sich tragen. Die Daten werden in keinem zentralen System gespeichert.

Es ist möglich mehrere Covid-Zertifikate in der App abzuspeichern, beispielsweise, wenn Sie mehrere negative Testresultate haben oder die Zertifikate Ihrer Familienangehörigen speichern möchten. In der App lässt sich auch anzeigen, wie lange das Covid-Zertifikat gültig ist, beziehungsweise wann es in der Schweiz abläuft.

Auf Verlangen können Sie das Zertifikat auf Papier, im PDF-Format oder mittels App vorweisen. Die Zertifikate sind nur zusammen mit der ID oder dem Pass gültig. 

Hinweis zum Verlust des Telefons/Löschung der App: Wir empfehlen Ihnen Ihre Zertifikate als PDF auf dem PC/Speichermedium bzw. als Papier-Ausdruck aufzubewahren, da z.B. bei einem Verlust des Telefons oder Löschung der App auch das Zertifikat unwiderruflich gelöscht wird.

nach oben

Download der Covid Certificate App im Apple App Store

QR Code für den Download der Certificate App im Apple App Store

Mit dem iPhone / iPad kann der nebenstehende QR-Code eingescannt werden. Danach öffnet sich die Seite der App im Apple App Store. 

Es kann auch mit dem Link auf die Seite der App im Apple App Store zugriffen werden:
Zur App im Apple App Store

Download der Covid Certificate App im Google Play Store

QR Code für den Download der Certificate App im Apple App Store

Mit dem Android Smartphone / Tablet kann der nebenstehende QR-Code eingescannt werden. Danach öffnet sich die Seite der App im Google Play Store.

Es kann auch mit dem Link auf die Seite der App im Google Play Store zugriffen werden:
Zur App im Google Play Store

 

Download der Covid Certificate App in der Huawei AppGallery

Es kann mit dem Link auf die Seite der App in der HUAWEI AppGallery zugriffen werden:: HUAWEI AppGallery